Menu Close

What Are The Days of the Week in Spanish

What Are The Days of the Week in Spanish

This article will tell you what are the days of the week in Spanish. As we all know there are
seven days in a week, starting from Monday and ending on Sunday. Today we are going to learn
what are the days of the week?

What Are The Days of the Week in Spanish

How do you say ‘what are the days of the week’?

This question is translated in the Spanish language as: ¿Cuáles son los días de la semana?.

To answer this question you can use:

The days of the week are … ‘Los días de la semana son…’.


Monday – lunes

Tuesday – martes

Wednesday – miércoles

Thursday – jueves

Friday – viernes

Saturday – sábado

Sunday – domingo

Note: The days of the week are all masculine.

El lunes
El martes
El miércoles
El jueves
El viernes
El sábado
El domingo

Tip: When used with the days of the week, the definite article has the special meaning “on”

Yo trabajo el lunes –  I do  work on Monday.

No viajo los martes – I don’t travel on Tuesdays.

Hay una reunión el miércoles – There is a meeting on Wednesday.


Note: Days of the week ending in -s do not change form in the Plural, only the article changes.


el lunes-los lunes

el martes-los martes

el miércoles-los miércoles

el jueves-los jueves

el viernes-los viernes

el sábado-los sábados

el domingo-los domingos


Note: Use the verb “ser” to express the day.

¿Qué día es hoy? – What day is today?

Hoy es martes –Today is Tuesday.

Mañana es miércoles – Tomorrow is Wednesday.

Pasado mañana es jueves – The day after tomorrow is Thursday

More Examples:



‘No se sentía bien el lunes

‘Ella viajaba el viernes’.

‘He was not feeling well on Monday’

‘She was traveling on Friday’

Read more articles